2008 Awards

Accolades for Excellence in Irish Meats and Cheeses

The Winners of the 2008 Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards were announced at a special awards ceremony attended by Ireland’s leading ‘foodies’ at L’Ecrivain restaurant, Dublin.

The accolades of excellence were presented to Patrick Moran for breeding and rearing traditional Kerry black-faced mountain lamb and for the superb quality of meat; Superquinn for the flavour and tenderness of their SQ Superior Quality Irish rib eye dry-aged Hereford beef; The Hempenstall Family of Wicklow Farmhouse cheeses for their hand-crafted and excellent Wicklow Blue Cheese; Olivia GoodWillie for the flavour, texture and consistent quality of Lavistown, a unique Irish farmhouse cheese, and The Associated Craft Butchers of Ireland for their sustained work in ensuring the survival and development of Craft Butchers and small-scale abattoirs and for the maintaining of traditional manufacturing butchery skills in Ireland.

Now in its 14th Year, the annual Irish Food Writers Guild Food (lFWG) Awards honours Irish food producers for the exceptional quality of their produce, their hard work and dedication to their craft. IFWG Food Awards are regarded within the industry as the most prestigious food awards in Ireland. They are unique in that the winners are chosen by the members at the Irish Food Writers Guild ‘in camera’, following a lengthy, year-long process.

Máirín Uí Chomáin , Chairperson of the IFWG explains; “The awards are about only one thing – true excellence.”

Click here for recipes created by Derry Clarke from L’Ecrivian restaurant for the 2008 awards lunch, showcasing the award winners.